How many Lord John Grey books are there?

Outlander Season 4 -- Courtesy of Aimee Spinks/STARZ
Outlander Season 4 -- Courtesy of Aimee Spinks/STARZ /

If you want to learn more about Lord John Grey, you can read about him. There are some Lord John Grey books by Diana Gabaldon to delve into. Just how many of these books in the Outlander universe are available?

There is no denying that Lord John Grey is an important character in the Outlander series. He is also a fan favorite, so there are plenty of people out there who would love to learn more about him. The good news is there is a set of books by Diana Gabaldon that looks into the British officer.

The books originally started when Gabaldon was offered the opportunity to write a short story that was set in Britain’s past. It would need to be some sort of crime story, and it had to be concise. It was certainly a challenge for the author, as we know her main stories are 300,000 words or so.

What started as a one-off challenge became a series of novels and novellas about the character. Just how many Lord John Grey books are there to read?

Lord John Grey books by Diana Gabaldon

There are nine books in total so far. We say so far because there is always the chance another book or more will come out. Gabaldon has made it clear that she is not finished with the character—well, the character isn’t finished with her.

The first short story, Lord John and the Hellfire Club, started as a short story as a challenge. Gabaldon knew that when writing the short story, she didn’t want to use one of the main characters. Lord John Grey is called her “mushroom,” as he pops up now and then. When he does pop up, he runs away with any scene he’s in, and he’s always willing to talk to the author. So, she developed a story with him as the main character for once.

In the end, the book wasn’t a short story. It came in at around 90,000 words at first, and her publishers made it clear that was the size of a normal book. All of the books are set within the Outlander universe and are integral to understanding Lord John more.

The Lord John Grey books in order of publication are:

  1. Lord John and the Hellfire Clubb
  2. Lord John and the Private Matter
  3. Lord John and the Succubus
  4. Lord John and the Brotherhood of the Blade
  5. Lord John and the Haunted Soldier
  6. The Custom of the Army
  7. The Scottish Prisoner
  8. A Plague of Zombies
  9. Besieged

If you see Lord John and the Hand of the Devils or Seven Stones to Stand or Fall and think I’ve skipped some books, don’t worry. These books include some of the books already mentioned above.

A Fugitive Green is in Seven Stones but there is the ability to buy it on its own. Some of the novellas are only available in collections.

Next. Why was Lord John Grey sent to Ardsmuir Prison in Outlander?. dark

Which are your favorite Lord John Grey books? Share in the comments below.

Get your favorite Lord John Grey books on Amazon.