All of Diana Gabaldon’s books in order

Photo by Frazer Harrison/Getty Images for Entertainment Weekly
Photo by Frazer Harrison/Getty Images for Entertainment Weekly /

Start checking off the books you have read by Outlander author Diana Gabaldon… there’s a bunch and we’ve put them in order.

Many Outlander fans don’t realize that that book by Diana Gabaldon first debuted way back in 1991 and since then she has amassed more than 30 books. Of course, us superfans already know that there are multiple titles in the Outlander series, but did you know that she has written other books as well (including a spin-off series surround Lord John Grey!).

Take a peek at this list off all of Gabaldon’s books in order of release.

Outlander (1999)

Where it all began! Also known as “Cross Stitch” in the U.K.

Dragonfly in Amber (1992)

Voyager (1993)

Drums of Autumn (1996)

Photo credit: Outlander/Starz Image acquired via Starz Media Room
Photo credit: Outlander/Starz Image acquired via Starz Media Room /

Lord John and the Hellfire Club (1998)

This is the first book in the spin-off series featuring Lord John Grey

Through the Stones (1999)

The Fiery Cross (2001)

Lord John and the Succubus (2003)

Lord John and the Private Matter (2003)

Legends II (2003)

White Knight (2004)

Working title for a mystery not yet published

A Breath of Snow and Ashes (2005)

Lord John and the Haunted Soldier (2007)

Lord John and the Brotherhood of the Blade (2007)

Lord John and the Hand of Devil (2007)

An Echo in the Bone (2009)

Go Tell the Bees That I Am Gone (2010)

Read an excerpt from this book here. (Warning there are spoilers). This isn’t the full novel, as it’s Book 9 and Gabaldon is currently still working on it. 2010 is just the first date of shared material.

The Custom of the Army (2010)

The Exile: The Outlander Graphic Novel (2010)

Lord John and the Plague of Zombies (2011)

The Scottish Prisoner (2011)

A Trail of Fire (2012)

A Leaf on the Wind of All Hallows (2012)

A Plague of Zombies: An Outlander Novella (2013)

Red Ant’s Head (2013)

Working title for a mystery thriller not published

The Space Between (2014)

Written in My Own Heart’s Blood (2014)

Humane Killer (2014)

Outlander Kitchen: The Official Outlander Companion Cookbook (2016)

Not written by Diana Gabaldon but an official connection to the Outlander universe.

Virgins: An Outlander Novella (2016)

I Give You My Body (2016)

Seven Stones to Stand or Fall (2017)

Ever wondered how you could meet Gabaldon? She makes appearances often and those can be found on her website.